The ability to erase your account is not readily offered through the regular settings on your account you have to go to a particular URL to do so.
Remove Facebook Account
A note about removal: From Facebook's Data Usage Policy
When you erase an account, it is permanently erased from Facebook. It usually takes about one month to erase an account, but some info may stay in backup copies and logs for as much as 90 days. You need to just erase your account if you make certain you never wish to reactivate it. You can delete your account at: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account.
Discover more at: https://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=356107851084108.
Certain info is had to supply you with services, so we only erase this details after you delete your account. A few of the important things you do on Facebook aren't saved in your account, like publishing to a group or sending out somebody a message (where your good friend might still have a message you sent out, even after you delete your account). That details remains after you delete your account.".
Conclusion: A few of your posts messages and interactions on Facebook will still be kept by Facebook.
If you just want to suspend or deactivate your account you can go to your Personal privacy Settings/Security and scroll down to the bottom of the security page to "Deactivate your account" and follow the triggers. This will not erase your account however just hides the timeline from other users.
Prior to you delete your account.
Make certain to download your Facebook data beforehand if you want to keep your posts, images etc
You should then erase as much of your data as possible by going through your activity Log and erasing each entry step by action. There is no shortcuts to doing this, and it depends on what does it cost? you have in the activity log as to for how long this will take. However it will imply that there will be less details about you on Facebook in general. Erase all your photos, defriend, unlike all pages, leave groups, and ensure that you shut any pages down that you own.
This doesn't indicate there will be no trace of you on Facebook. Facebook might have exactly what is being known as a "shadow" represent you. Where a good friend has actually used the find friend feature in Facebook where Facebook publishes their whole address book into Facebook to use the information to discover matches already on Facebook.
Any telephone number and e-mail address that are submitted by doing this are maintained by Facebook. You may in reality get welcomes to join Facebook simply because a buddy published your email address and contact number whilst trying to find pals they understand on Facebook.
To begin the process of completely deleting your account: Go to this address or search for "Delete my Facebook account" in Facebook Help Browse.
You need to have 2 Week to reactivate your account if you change your mind. After that time your account will be not available for reactivation, to utilize Facebook you would need to begin an entire new account.
Hopefully this short article Remove Facebook Account has given you further insight into the Facebook.