The capability to delete your account is not easily available through the normal settings on your account you need to go to a specific URL to do so.
How To Remove My Facebook Account
A note about removal: From Facebook's Data Use Policy
When you delete an account, it is permanently erased from Facebook. It typically takes about one month to delete an account, however some details might stay in backup copies and logs for approximately 90 days. You need to only delete your account if you make certain you never wish to reactivate it. You can erase your account at: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account.
Discover more at: https://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=356107851084108.
Certain details is required to offer you with services, so we only erase this information after you erase your account. Some of the things you do on Facebook aren't saved in your account, like publishing to a group or sending someone a message (where your pal might still have a message you sent, even after you erase your account). That information remains after you delete your account.".
Conclusion: A few of your posts messages and interactions on Facebook will still be maintained by Facebook.
If you just wish to suspend or deactivate your account you can go to your Personal privacy Settings/Security and scroll down to the bottom of the security page to "Deactivate your account" and follow the prompts. This won't delete your account but simply conceals the timeline from other users.
Before you delete your account.
Make sure to download your Facebook data beforehand if you want to retain your posts, pictures and so on
You must then erase as much of your information as possible by going through your activity Log and erasing each entry step by step. There is no faster ways to doing this, and it depends on how much you have in the activity log as to how long this will take. But it will mean that there will be less information about you on Facebook in general. Delete all your photos, defriend, unlike all pages, leave groups, and ensure that you shut any pages down that you own.
This doesn't imply there will be no trace of you on Facebook. Facebook may have what is being known as a "shadow" represent you. Where a friend has used the discover friend feature in Facebook where Facebook publishes their whole address book into Facebook to utilize the information to discover matches already on Facebook.
Any contact number and email address that are published in this manner are maintained by Facebook. You may in truth get invites to sign up with Facebook simply since a pal published your e-mail address and contact number whilst looking for friends they know on Facebook.
To begin the procedure of permanently erasing your account: Go to this address or search for "Delete my Facebook account" in Facebook Help Browse.
You should have 14 days to reactivate your account if you alter your mind. After that time your account will be not available for reactivation, to utilize Facebook you would have to begin an entire new account.
Hopefully this short article How To Remove My Facebook Account has given you further insight into the Facebook.